GRIS logo

Frequently asked questions

What is a workshop?

GRIS-Montréal’s workshops are given in the form of testimony. The workshops are run by two volunteers who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, pansexual, trans or non-binary, and are specially trained to be able to answer even the most personal questions that young people might have. The young people can thereby put a face on a reality which sometimes scares or intimidates them. After a brief biographical talk, the volunteers open the question and answer portion, inviting the students to ask them any question they might have concerning the diversity of sexual orientations and/or gender identity.

For more information, head to the Our actions section.

How can I become a volunteer?

Demystifying the diversity of sexual orientations and gender identity in classrooms, compiling research data, organizing different sociocultural events in the community are just a few of the activities that our volunteers share in. Please note that only people who are openly lesbian, gay, bisexual, pansexual, trans or non-binary can become in-class workshop facilitators.

To become one of them, you have to first become a member. To do so, you just have to complete a questionnaire and pay a symbolic annual fee of $5 and agree to comply with the code of ethics. Contact us.

How can I become an intervener?

To offer workshops in the classroom, you have to first become a member of GRIS. To do so, you just have to complete a questionnaire, pay a symbolic annual fee of $5 and agree to comply with the code of ethics (contact us).

Anyone wishing to provide workshops in class have to meet certain criteria such as identifying as a lesbian, gay, bisexual, pansexual, trans or non-binary person and being open in your social or family life, being comfortable talking about yourself and your private life in public. All of the information can be found in the Get Involved section (Link to becoming a volunteer - offering workshops in class). If you have any questions, contact us, it would be our pleasure to respond!

How can I become a friend of GRIS?

To become a friend of GRIS, you just have to fill out the registration form and pay a $5 symbolic fee.

How do I create my fundraising effort?

Creating your fundraising initiative is easy! Once your fundraising initiative is approved: it’s up to you! Share it on your social media networks, talk about it, and encourage your friends to donate to help you reach your goal!

For all of the details, head to the Get Involved section and click on Fundraise for GRIS or click here.

QUESTIONS LES PLUS FRÉQUENTES

Qu'est-ce qu'une intervention?

Les interventions du GRIS-Montréal sont données sous forme de témoignages par un duo de bénévoles gais, lesbiennes ou bisexuels, spécialement formés pour répondre aux questions des jeunes, même les plus intimidantes. Les jeunes peuvent ainsi mettre des visages sur une réalité qui, parfois, les effraie ou les intimide. Après un bref exposé biographique, les intervenants et intervenantes invitent les élèves à poser toutes les questions qui les préoccupent au sujet de l’homosexualité et de la bisexualité.

Pour plus d’informations, dirigez-vous dans la section Nos actions

Comment puis-je devenir bénévole?

Démystifier l’homosexualité et la bisexualité en classe, compiler les données de recherche, organiser différents événements socioculturels dans la communauté ne sont que quelques-unes des activités que se partagent nos bénévoles (seules les personnes ouvertement homosexuelles ou bisexuelles peuvent suivre la formation qui les prépare à intervenir en classe).

Pour devenir l’un d’eux, vous devez d’abord devenir membre. Pour cela, il suffit de compléter le questionnaire d’accueil, de payer une cotisation annuelle symbolique de 5$ et d’accepter de se conformer au code d’éthique. Contactez-nous.

DEVENIR BÉNÉVOLE

Comment puis-je devenir intervenant?

Pour intervenir en classe, il faut d’abord devenir membre du GRIS. Pour cela, il suffit de compléter le questionnaire d’accueil, de payer une cotisation annuelle symbolique de 5$ et d’accepter de se conformer au code d’éthique (contactez-nous).

Tous ceux qui aspirent à faire du travail d’intervention en classe doivent remplir certains critères tels que s’identifier comme personnes homosexuelle ou bisexuelle et être reconnue comme telle dans votre milieu social et/ou familial, être à l’aise à parler de soi et de votre intimité en public. Toutes les informations se trouve dans la section S’impliquer (Lien devenir bénévole – Intervenir en classe). Si vous avez des questions, contactez-nous, il nous fera plaisir de vous répondre !

Comment puis-je devenir ami(e) du GRIS ?

Pour devenir ami(e) du GRIS, il suffit de remplir le formulaire d’inscription et de payer une cotisation annuelle symbolique de 5$.

Comment créer ma collecte de dons?

Créer votre collecte de dons, c’est facile ! Créez votre page et une fois votre collecte de dons approuvée, ce sera à vous de jouer ! Partagez-la sur vos réseaux sociaux, parlez-en autour de vous et encouragez vos ami(e)s à donner pour vous aider à atteindre votre objectif !

Pour connaître tous les détails, rendez-vous dans la section S’impliquer et cliquez sur Récoltez des dons pour le GRIS ou cliquez ici.